“It will invade your world.”

That headline is a line from Nanore Barsoumian’s review of “The Night Strangers.”

I love it.

But there have been other terrific lines so far, too.  To wit, this one from Justin Cronin in his review:

“To put the matter succinctly: The first chapter of Chris Bohjalian’s The Night Strangers is so riveting, I dropped the book in the tub.”

And on a CNN pop culture blog, my dream came true when my name appeared in the same sentence as Leslie Knope:

“‘Pawnee: The Greatest Town in America,’ a book by the creators of ‘Parks and Recreation’ under the moniker of Amy Poehler’s character Leslie Knope, arrives today, along with ‘The Night Strangers’ by Chris Bohjalian and ‘The Dovekeepers’ by Alice Hoffman.””

Below are, so far, what people are saying are about “The Night Strangers.”

My fingers are crossed you’re not disappointed.


“Shades of The Shining make for a haunting tale. . . A modern-day ghost story worth losing sleep over.” — Family Circle

“You will close the book’s covers totally satisfied, aware that this masterful storyteller has done it again.” — Seattle Times

“After losing passengers in a forced landing, a pilot seeks respite by moving his family to New England. But the house is haunted and local witches won’t leave them alone. Good ‘n’ spooky.” — Good Housekeeping

“Riveting. . .seamless. . .a hell of a good ghost story.” — Justin Cronin, author of The Passage

“Put a haunted man in a haunted house. . .and you have a Halloween hair-raiser. But it’s more than that. Bohjalian, with a dozen well-received novels to his credit, understands trauma: how long it takes to recover from unimaginable pain, and how people who have never experienced it rarely understand.” — Tim Clark, Yankee Magazine

“A spellbinding, heart-pounding novel. . .this is one perfect book for Halloween.” — Megan Fishmann, Book Page

“A delicious and haunting tale. . .Bohjalian is a terrific writer and parsimonious in the way he issues information, slowly building an increasing sense of dread and excitement.” — Curt Schleier, Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Bohjalian uses a clean-edged pen to dice, toss, and serve a gasp-inducing plot that is ghost story-meets psychological thriller. . .The book has a spellbinding clutch. A mélange of horror, thrill, drama, sex, and gore—juxtaposed against the quiet and solitude of a small New England town—it will test your courage and resolve. . .[It] will invade your world.” – Nanore Barsoumian, The Armenian Weekly

“Masterfully crafted. . .a suspense-filled ghost story set in rural New Hampshire. . .This is a great read filled with real-life characters, an intricate story line and just enough ‘spooky.'” — Julie Bonner Williams, The Grand Rapids Press

“Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening. Fans of Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones and Margaret Atwood’s Cat’s Eye and The Robber Bride will find similar appeal here.” — Library Journal[Starred Review]

“A gripping paranormal thriller. . .Meticulous research and keen attention to detail give depth and character to [the] eerie world. . .Bohjalian is a master, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride.” — Publishers Weekly

“A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in this genre-bending novel.” — Booklist [Starred Review]

“Compelling. . .a practical magick horror story.” — Kirkus Reviews

Chris Bohjalian
Chris Bohjalian

Chris Bohjalian is the author of eighteen books, including his forthcoming novel, The Guest Room. His other novels include the New York Times bestsellers Midwives, The Sandcastle Girls, and The Double Bind.

One thought on ““It will invade your world.”

  1. Eileen Famiglietti says:

    As I read the first two chapters, goosebumps formed….finally i found a great ‘ghost story’ for the month of Halloween!

Leave a Reply